Verified Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5 out of 5 stars

The Adaptalux Studio proved invaluable in letting me position lights of different colors and intensities to illuminate not only macro scenes but also still life compositions. The flexibility of the lighting arms together with use of the iphone app allowed me to adjust, balance and dial in just the right amount of light in real time, in live view, to bring the atmosphere I was looking for to life. This versatility of the Adaptalux Studio has opened up many new opportunities to explore the creative use of lighting.

Ted
16th November 2021

A very versatile solution to macro photography! The quality of the system is wonderful. We are rare coin dealers so the system does work well for that purpose. (Not a criticism!) I would like to see a unit offered that would have like 2 ports so I could use a unit on each side. It’s too expensive to do this pairing. The alternative with the current unit might be to offer options of longer light shafts. I use a “shoot from above system from a copy stand and the focal length I need for certified coins in slabs doesn’t allow me to reach a lateral lighting scheme when using the unit from the supplied cold shoe configuration. Longer arms would be the solution. Good product otherwise.

Lenny
9th August 2021

I purchased a basic built my own set with four arms. I shoot mostly weddings and was looking for lighting my macro ring shots. This system certainly opened me up to many creative options.
It’s easy to use and the results are fantastic.
Fast shipping
Great customer service

Michael
3rd August 2021

I recently completed Macro video filming of Gemstones and Jewellery for a Japanese National Television program. The very well built Adaptalux kit helped me get some amazing shots and the producers were not only impressed with the kit but how the images turned out and the kind of intricate control I had over the lighting. Macro video shooting can be challenging and the Adaptalux kit was in my opinion was essential – in speed, getting the look I wanted and the kind of micro adjustments needed to make it all come together. (vision samples not able to be uploaded as yet due to copyright clearance)

HDCAMAN
3rd August 2021

Love the system. I even ordered the carry case to put them in. The box they came in was good, but I just wanted better protection and easy access.
Love the lights and the MACRO video ideas you share.

Roger
31st July 2021

So easy from purchase to delivery to follow up.
Great quality product. Really versatile. I follow Ben on YouTube for project ideas.
I just wonder if you may create warm white light as I sometimes find the white light arms pretty cold , just an idea though 🙂
I love the UV lamps, still practicing to get my camera settings right though.
2 photos I’ve taken so far, a UV flower and a still life called ‘a grate family photo’ 😁

Andrea Maloney
22nd July 2021

I have owned my studio for just over a year. After stumbling across a video on YouTube, I was impressed with what I saw. And thought this is something even I could use, and I was right. With everything being compact as they are, it is quite easy to maneuver around just about any set up I can come up with. And being able to take the lights outside in the dark, I am not stumbling around heavy equipment. So, the mobility I have with my studio, is very satisfying.

The photo I submitted was a mistake photo, I was only focusing, but I pressed to hard, but I do like the results.

Bob
20th July 2021

The studio system was easy to set up and use. So many possibilities with the colours available

Graeme
1st June 2021

Excellent customer service. Very quick delivery. Fantastic advice given if you are hesitant about purchasing these lights or any Adaptalux equipment. My lights that I ordered are fantastic & will be adding to them. Can’t wait for the flash to be released. I would highly recommend Adaptalux whether you are a beginner like me or a professional

Jean
1st May 2021

It really is super. It’s compact and easy to use. The light it produces is beautiful and easy to manage. I do a lot of petal portraits and this really helps to reveal their hidden beauty and personality. It really is an incredible value.

Dennis
9th April 2021

The Adaptalux studio lights and filters do exactly what they promise and give great results. And I’m a big fan of their YouTube videos giving lots of tips for new macro subjects and techniques. Their customer support is also rapid and effective. Maybe a small company but perfectly formed!

Lynton
1st April 2021

I was drawn to the Adatalux system by the color arms and filters. Both have worked great to this point, and I’m still experimenting. Great Product

Joe
13th February 2021

My workspace is quite small and I don’t have room for lighting stands and sophisticated lighting equipment. The Adaptalux Studio will work nicely in my limited space.
I received the Adaptalux Studio about 3 weeks ago and so far, I have performed a couple of test shoots with flowers to become familiar with the operation of the equipment. I am very pleased with the results and I look forward to some fun springtime macro and closeup photography with flowers and other nature subjects.
I have had several questions for Adaptalux support, and I have been quite impressed with their response time and the quality of the responses.

Leonard
17th March 2021

I love how adaptable and versatile this system is. It has not only allowed for quick changes in lighting during a shooting session but because of the options of the mobile app along with the ability to focus the light, it also allows for a surprising amount of precision and control of the light, especially at such a small scale.

Aaron D
17th March 2021

I have set up some flowers inside for trying out my lighting arm, and adjusted the angle of the arm to try and get the best shot. This is still a work in progress, but I know it will improve the quality of my work. I am looking forward to trying my flash arms when they arrive.

Jenny
27th February 2021

The adaptalux setup provides customizable lighting for any type of photostand.

owl
20th February 2021

I have used it twice (I’m preparing my move to Taiwan). I used it to make a macro stack-up picture. I use 2 Arms, white and red and illuminated my subject from the top. The effect was really great and it is easy to change the settings with the downloaded app.
I look forward to using it in the near future for some high-speed photography.

Laurent
30th January 2021

Very innovative lighting set up and great customer service – had an issue with mine and the problem was dealt with swiftly and in a no quibble, polite and friendly way – highly recommended.

Scott
26th April 2017

One of the best things I’ve got in my kit, totally flexible, easy to use and with amazing results.

Laura
22nd April 2017

Great controllable lighting system that is perfect for Macro photography

Richard
7th April 2017

This is a great product. It has completely changed my macro photos. It is so flexible and easy to use. Controlled from my iPhone or from the pod itself, it turns macro photos into great macro pictures. The lighting combinations are just about endless.

I bought the Combo Pack, this included:
The Pod
Four lighting arms of my choice, with a little advice from the Adaptalux team.
Three defusers.
Two colour filters, again with advice from the Adaptalux team.
Various cables, a charging adapter and cold shoe fitting.
With the help and advice from Adaptalux this combination of lighting arms and filters gave me a great start. I will of course be adding lighting arms and filters in the near future.

Sean
4th April 2017

Definitely the best lightning system ever for photography!

Markus
27th October 2020

Testimonials

Video reviews and professional case studies

Simon Norfolk macro photography with adaptalux studio

"I’m in Jerusalem on an assignment for National Geographic Magazine. I don’t review many pieces of kit, but this little Adaptalux unit saved my bacon."

Simon Norfolk

"My daughter who is 4 years old, even she gets involved using it and just playing around with things she finds in the garden"

Neal Robins

"For macro photography or anything like that, it's an absolutely superb tool. It is so much cheaper than any of the other systems and the quality is very high as well."

Joe Cain

"I’ve tested the Adaptalux lighting arms next to forensic UV lamps and custom-built UV flashes, and the quality of the light they emit is fantastic."

Don Komarechka

Don Komarechka UV Photography

"It's so simple and easy to use, predominantly for macro photography, it's perfect. You can get in nice and close and you've got the volume of light you need."

Neil Sebright

Tonya Wilhelm

"I find that images taken with the Adapatux lights perform extraordinarily well in social media. It is so rare to see nature photographed with the colorful lighting options of a studio."

Tonya Wilhelm

"Adding a different colour on a different angle changes the entire feel and look of my pictures"

Darren Littlehales

"Buy a few arms, buy a few colour diffusers too because it gives you a lot of variation"

Mike Duffy

"I really love the way the new Android App works to control the lights from my phone it’s a real helpful creative tool."

Mark Dell

Mark Dell

"Would I recommend buying one of these? Without hesitation, they are brilliant"

Philip

"I'm using it as a powerful tool to add to my studio lighting to support my commercial clients"

Peter Rydon

To see the work of photographers using the Adaptalux Studio, visit our Facebook community or explore our showcase gallery!