Magazine Reviews

Amateur Photographer Magazine
Digital Camera World Logo
photofocus
NPhoto-Magazine
CameraCraft Magazine

Verified Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5 out of 5 stars

Testimonials

Video reviews and professional case studies

It gives daylight colour temperature, easy to use. Light intensity can be adjusted from mobile app. It is must for macro photography in my opinion. Very much satisfied with the product

Saurabh Bhattacharyya
10th February 2024

I have found the Adaptalux Studio pod and lighting arms to be very easy to use and versatile in their application. The products are of high quality and have proved to be very useful in my macro photography helping me to get light to exactly where I want it.

Phil
20th February 2024

I started with the mini pods and lighting arms for lightweight easy additional lighting. However then purchased the main pod and the brighter lighting arms which provide that extra detailed focus of light. Great effects. I’m impressed with the products and excellent customer service. Looking forward to the new flash arms when they come out.

Sans
18th February 2024

From pre purchase through to after sales, there is always a prompt and friendly response from a real person during office hours, rather than an automated response. If out of hours, communications are always answered next day.
Dispatch of their excellent products is very fast, well packed and tracked.

Kingsley
7th February 2024

I received this pack in December and have begun using it to help light my macro subjects. The lighting arms make a big difference, allowing me to use a much shorter shutter time. I am waiting for the adapters to be delivered to allow the mounts I bought to be fitted to the Pod Minis. These adapters will enable me to position the pods and lighting arms more precisely and become more creative.

Adrian
7th January 2024

Recently purchased. Still getting used to using the components. I am looking to develop my skills doing iris photography. Enjoying the portability and ease of use.

Juan
7th January 2024

I have been using the control pod/lighting arms for a little bit now and Really have had no issues with the product.
Really appreciate the control available through the App on the smart phone and save different profiles, allowing all the control of the lighting.

Bruno
21st December 2023

I recently received my Christmas package with the Adaptalux Pod starter kit. I’m impressed with the setup and ease of use of the pod with the cell phone app. My primary use will be macro photography of mosses using my Canon Rebel SL1 with EFS-60 macro lens. I am enjoying the ability to shoot without a flash yet still have plenty of light and be able to shut the f stop down for sufficient depth of field. The coloured background cards are handy!

AllenB
29th December 2023

I left a review on my product but I also want to leave a review on your customer service. I give you five stars for your quick response to my questions as well as how quickly I received my product. I am thoroughly happy with your company.

Bett
16th December 2023

I’m really pleased with my Mini Pods. I like how they can be repositioned easily and how I can focus light onto a small portion of my subject.

Bett
16th December 2023

It’s not often, when opening a parcel, I smile. After receiving the beautifully packaged lighting system I realised this was money well spent. I suspect there has been an incredible amount of effort in the design and execution of Adaptalux and would highly recommend purchasing. I popped onto chat and the Gentlemen I dealt with were patient, courteous and informative. I’m recovering from major surgery, finally being able to play around and can’t wait to make a hash of it all as i’m pretty hopeless when it comes to artificial lighting, but confident i’ll crack it with their excellent products and supportive backing. Best wishes and good luck for the future.

LILI LETTICE
13th December 2023

Great light source for macro and close-up subjects. Composing in live view, using in-body focus bracketing and auto focus makes a macro photo session a joy.

John
10th December 2023

So far, Ben has been my only contact at Adaptalux and he has been my EVERYTHING! Amazing customer service! In spite of me being in the US and he in the UK, my emails to him (and there have been many) are quickly and thoroughly answered. He has been happy to work with me on a couple of different issues and everything has worked out great! So happy to have not only found SUPERIOR products but customer service that matches that quality. I am going to be a long term customer with this company! Thank you Ben, for all that you have helped me with!

Beth
22nd November 2023

I first purchased the Adaptalux Studio at the Photography Show around 2016 (ish) this was the original adaptalux pod. I bought a kit. Over the years I have added UV arms and upgraded to the new improved POD recently. I have also just purchased the green lighting arm for some Christmas projects. If you have not watched the YouTube Channel you really need to do so. So many ideas and very well presented.

Barry
21st November 2023

Really love the system. Easy to set up shoot, and control the settings via the app for the main pod. The mini pod is great for side or backlight. Just had one shoot with uv light so far and can’t wait to do more.

Guillaume
15th November 2023

For over 15 years, I have been volunteering within the Portable Antiquities Scheme (PAS) dealing with macro photography. They require quality imagery of the objects, and lighting is key to that. I followed the Adaptalux system, but it was above our needs.
Adaptalux then produced the Pod Mini, a pair of lamps, with diffusers. The British Museum purchased a set for me to test. They are a game changer in the use of lights for the macro photography of small the objects, rings, brooches etc. and coins. They are very easy to set up and adjust as key and fill lights, using the camera live view screen.
Brilliant, thank you Ben, for your advice and great customer service with the system.

Rod
7th November 2023

… have just dipped my toe in the water and purchased a mini, base, light, clamp and defuser. Really pleased the product oozes quality and is beautifully made and performs well. Everything about the company from the website, product, packaging and support has attention to detail. I’m so pleased I went down this route and will be adding items to my set up.

Jane
6th November 2023

The lighting arms are very well built and provide a most excellent light. Very easy to set up and focus.

Bob
25th October 2023

Excellent in all areas… Customer service is 100%

John
15th October 2023

The little pack with @ UV lights and 2 mini pods that I bought is just beautiful. Really, the first thing you notice is the build quality and an incredibly pleasant feeling on touch.
I wish the lights were somewhat more powerful, but instead of complaining I will order 3 more and a Control Pod.

Viktor
20th October 2023

The company is fantastic. Your videos giving technique advice are excellent and a big reason why I got interested in adaptalux in the first place. The website is unbelievably comprehensive and easy to use, with easy to find info. I ordered on sunday and it all arrived today, Tuesday, even on ‘standard’ free postage. Finally your packaging is superb, it rivals Apple and Sonos, 2 companies I really ratre for quality. So well done guys!

John
3rd October 2023

Just a simple and well thought out device. Works as advertised. It would be great having some longer lights in the system. It would give you more room when you need to bend the light in a larger arch. Still a great product.

Kent
21st September 2023

Simon Norfolk macro photography with adaptalux studio

"I’m in Jerusalem on an assignment for National Geographic Magazine. I don’t review many pieces of kit, but this little Adaptalux unit saved my bacon."

Simon Norfolk

"My daughter who is 4 years old, even she gets involved using it and just playing around with things she finds in the garden"

Neal Robins

"For macro photography or anything like that, it's an absolutely superb tool. It is so much cheaper than any of the other systems and the quality is very high as well."

Joe Cain

"I’ve tested the Adaptalux lighting arms next to forensic UV lamps and custom-built UV flashes, and the quality of the light they emit is fantastic."

Don Komarechka

Don Komarechka UV Photography

"It's so simple and easy to use, predominantly for macro photography, it's perfect. You can get in nice and close and you've got the volume of light you need."

Neil Sebright

Tonya Wilhelm

"I find that images taken with the Adapatux lights perform extraordinarily well in social media. It is so rare to see nature photographed with the colorful lighting options of a studio."

Tonya Wilhelm

"Adding a different colour on a different angle changes the entire feel and look of my pictures"

Darren Littlehales

"Buy a few arms, buy a few colour diffusers too because it gives you a lot of variation"

Mike Duffy

"I really love the way the new Android App works to control the lights from my phone it’s a real helpful creative tool."

Mark Dell

Mark Dell

"Would I recommend buying one of these? Without hesitation, they are brilliant"

Philip

"I'm using it as a powerful tool to add to my studio lighting to support my commercial clients"

Peter Rydon

To see the work of photographers using the Adaptalux Studio, visit our Facebook community or explore our showcase gallery!