Magazine Reviews

Amateur Photographer Magazine
Digital Camera World Logo
photofocus
NPhoto-Magazine
CameraCraft Magazine

Verified Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5 out of 5 stars

Testimonials

Video reviews and professional case studies

The ultraviolet lighting arm is a must-have for this surreal photography world. Simple setup – I produced fantastic otherworldly images in minutes. Just get used to working in the dark and be patient, adjusting exposures. There are lots of resources available on the website. Unlocks new creative possibilities with unique glowing results unlike traditional lighting. Highly recommended for photographers​​​​​​​​​​ wanting to try something new

Rob
7th June 2024

Having used and loved the regular arms and the Xenon Flash arms I thought I would try the UV lighting. A good decision. They need a blacked out room and tripods because of long exposures. The results are spectacular and very different. Unlike other UV lights I have tried, these give off a pure UV light. If you are considering trying UVIVF photography you will enjoy it. I have 3 arms but plan to buy two more. I can recommend the Adaptalux UV arms.

Ken
24th May 2024

II bought the complete kit, the one with the UV light. So far I have tested the UV lamps the results are really impressive, next test will be the flowers with and without tonic water. As for the colored lamps, I tried the paper effects and a few miniature photos and I am more and more impressed, the only regret is that I should have made this purchase much earlier. Now I’m impatiently waiting for the Flash Zenon to come back in stock.
I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate you on your good work on your channel, the examples and ideas you give are very good and the explanations are always very clear.

Carole
4th May 2024

Love my flower results with UV lighting arms. Only thing I had to correct: should have gotten 3 rather than just 2 UV arms.

Marlyn
14th May 2024

First off, it works exactly as advertised. The arms snap in and out easily and produce beautiful color precisely where you want them. I started in macro photography last year and wasn’t pleased with the lighting solutions was using. I am so happy to have found the studio pod. It’s already had a real, and beautiful impact on my photos. Also, the background cards included with the purchase are extremely handy and were a greatly appreciated bonus.

Peter
15th May 2024

Even though the parcel to Norway took a long time due to a PayPal problem. I am very satisfied with the product. Everything is ok.
Regards. Nice product.

Marek
17th May 2024

I am really enjoying my experience with Adaptalux. I dove in headfirst and purchased both control pods, 5 UV arms, and an assortment of other arms & accessories. It’s amazing to see what and how various things fluoresce – things opens up a whole new genre of photo opportunities!

Peter L
18th May 2024

Although I haven’t had the chance to use the system yet, I have conducted several dry run mock-ups in preparation for getting out this weekend. I primarily purchased the system for outdoor macro photography and I am sure it will more than fulfil my requirements.

Tim
3rd May 2024

Hey everyone, just wanted to share my thoughts on the Adaptalux Studio Ultimate Pack. As someone who loves tinkering with photography but isn’t a pro, this thing is a game-changer! Setting it up was surprisingly easy. No complicated manuals or tech jargon—just plug and play. And the results? Mind-blowing! The lighting is on point, bringing out details I never knew existed in my macro shots. But what I love most is how it’s helping me learn. Experimenting with different lighting setups is like a fun puzzle, and I can see myself improving with each shot. It’s like having a mini photography workshop in my own home.

Mat Dudley
19th April 2024

I added 3 UV arms to my Adaptalux outfit. UVIVF has added a new dimension to my photography. They are easy to use (a white handkerchief is an easy way to see where the UV light falls). The results can be spectacular. If you are thinking about buying UV Arms go for it. You will not regret it.

Ken
15th April 2024

Flexible rods are very useful but the versatility of the setup also allows you to accomplish macro targets that are challenging.

Marsha
21st March 2024

I was impressed by the packaging of the delivered items. I felt like a kid on Christmas morning. I’ve been busy photographing wildlife outside, so I really haven’t had a change to use my A. Studio. As soon as we start getting some flora and fauna, I may try it outdoors. It’s still pretty bare on the landscape here in New England, USA. I will be setting up a macro area in my studio soon. I can wait to try it all out.

Cathy W.
29th March 2024

Great product! From ordering, to shipping to receiving the Adaptalux kit was simple, received when stated. When I had questions , they were answered in a timely fashion. Great experience.

Cosimo Cavaliere
28th February 2024

A really useful quality LED Lighting Kit for macro tabletop photography. Excellent Adaptalux web site for instruction and technique on using the kit. Highly recommended.

John
11th March 2024

I updated my version 1 pod to version 3 due to the boost mode, which I like for iris-photography.
It is not a cheap tool, but for macro-photography the best on the market.

Frank
4th March 2024

It gives daylight colour temperature, easy to use. Light intensity can be adjusted from mobile app. It is must for macro photography in my opinion. Very much satisfied with the product

Saurabh Bhattacharyya
10th February 2024

I have found the Adaptalux Studio pod and lighting arms to be very easy to use and versatile in their application. The products are of high quality and have proved to be very useful in my macro photography helping me to get light to exactly where I want it.

Phil
20th February 2024

I started with the mini pods and lighting arms for lightweight easy additional lighting. However then purchased the main pod and the brighter lighting arms which provide that extra detailed focus of light. Great effects. I’m impressed with the products and excellent customer service. Looking forward to the new flash arms when they come out.

Sans
18th February 2024

From pre purchase through to after sales, there is always a prompt and friendly response from a real person during office hours, rather than an automated response. If out of hours, communications are always answered next day.
Dispatch of their excellent products is very fast, well packed and tracked.

Kingsley
7th February 2024

I received this pack in December and have begun using it to help light my macro subjects. The lighting arms make a big difference, allowing me to use a much shorter shutter time. I am waiting for the adapters to be delivered to allow the mounts I bought to be fitted to the Pod Minis. These adapters will enable me to position the pods and lighting arms more precisely and become more creative.

Adrian
7th January 2024

Recently purchased. Still getting used to using the components. I am looking to develop my skills doing iris photography. Enjoying the portability and ease of use.

Juan
7th January 2024

I have been using the control pod/lighting arms for a little bit now and Really have had no issues with the product.
Really appreciate the control available through the App on the smart phone and save different profiles, allowing all the control of the lighting.

Bruno
21st December 2023

Simon Norfolk macro photography with adaptalux studio

"I’m in Jerusalem on an assignment for National Geographic Magazine. I don’t review many pieces of kit, but this little Adaptalux unit saved my bacon."

Simon Norfolk

"My daughter who is 4 years old, even she gets involved using it and just playing around with things she finds in the garden"

Neal Robins

"For macro photography or anything like that, it's an absolutely superb tool. It is so much cheaper than any of the other systems and the quality is very high as well."

Joe Cain

"I’ve tested the Adaptalux lighting arms next to forensic UV lamps and custom-built UV flashes, and the quality of the light they emit is fantastic."

Don Komarechka

Don Komarechka UV Photography

"It's so simple and easy to use, predominantly for macro photography, it's perfect. You can get in nice and close and you've got the volume of light you need."

Neil Sebright

Tonya Wilhelm

"I find that images taken with the Adapatux lights perform extraordinarily well in social media. It is so rare to see nature photographed with the colorful lighting options of a studio."

Tonya Wilhelm

"Adding a different colour on a different angle changes the entire feel and look of my pictures"

Darren Littlehales

"Buy a few arms, buy a few colour diffusers too because it gives you a lot of variation"

Mike Duffy

"I really love the way the new Android App works to control the lights from my phone it’s a real helpful creative tool."

Mark Dell

Mark Dell

"Would I recommend buying one of these? Without hesitation, they are brilliant"

Philip

"I'm using it as a powerful tool to add to my studio lighting to support my commercial clients"

Peter Rydon

To see the work of photographers using the Adaptalux Studio, visit our Facebook community or explore our showcase gallery!